North Whidbey Fire and Rescue is a fire protection district formed under Title 52 of the Revised Code of Washington (RCW). As a fire district, NWFR is an independent municipal entity and not part of county or city government. The district is governed by a three member Board of Fire Commissioners each of whom serves a six year term.

Board Chairman

TJ Lamont

Commissioner T. J. Lamont was born and raised in central Florida where he graduated from Eau Gallie High School in 1966.  He attended college at Brevard Community College and then joined the Navy in February 1969.  He was transferred to NAS Whidbey Island on Jan 9th in 1970.  Commissioner Lamont has retired from the NAVY and from civil service as of 2008.

Commissioner Lamont began working in the fire service with the Bayview Fire Department (Skagit County) in 1973-1974.  From November of 1979 – November of 1980 he worked with the NAS Fire Department.  He then moved into volunteering with NWFR in 1980 and was an EMT and Captain at his 2006 retirement.  Commissioner Lamont has served two different terms as a fire commissioner.  His first time in the role was January of 1999 to January 2012.  His second term began in January 2018 and he continues in that role currently.

Upon being stationed on Whidbey Island, Commissioner Lamont purchased property in 1975.  There he established a farm and boarded horses until 2018.  He lives with his wife of 52 years, Pat Lamont and they have one son, Jason, daughter in law Christine and 2 Grandsons!

Commissioner Marvin Koorn was born and raised in Oak Harbor Washington where he attended Oak Harbor Christian School and Oak Harbor High School.  He also completed a Bachelor’s Degree in Education with a Major in Math and Minor in Psychology from Western Washington University.  He and his wife Margaret, also an Oak Harbor native, have been married for 48 years and have three sons, one daughter, and 7 grandchildren.


Commissioner Koorn began volunteering with the San De Fuca Fire Department in 1978 and quickly rose to the rank of Fire Chief by 1983.  He served as District 2 South Chief from 1992-2002. While volunteering with NWFR he spent 26 years as North Whidbey road maintenance supervisor. Upon retiring from island county, he became the first career Chief with NWFR until he retired in 2015

He was appointed Commissioner of North Whidbey Fire and Rescue in 2017 where he currently still serves culminating in more than 40 years of service with North Whidbey Fire and Rescue. 

 Marvin Koorn


  Jerry Goen 


Jerry Goen was raised in Texas, after graduating high school he joined the Navy.  Jerry went on to serve 6 years active duty and 24 years as a reservist; retiring as Chief Warrant Officer.  

During this time Jerry was also a fire fighter for the Navy Northwest Region, serving at NAS Whidbey for 23 years, retiring as a Battalion Chief. During that time a few of the certifications he obtained were:  Aircraft firefighting, Structural firefighting,  Fire Officer III, Fire Service Instructor II, Fire Inspector ll, Haz-Mat Incident Command, Fire Inspector II, High Angle and Confined Space Technician.  Jerry has also been a volunteer firefighter with North Whidbey Fire and Rescue for 30 years, retiring as Battalion Chief before going on to serve as a fire commissioner for the last 10 years.  


Jerry has spent his career protecting and serving the community of Island County, making his home here with his wife, of 46 years, Loraine and their 2 adult daughters.